Decoration_Image showingflying titles of accelerometer properties and a magnifying blass to serach after the properties. Image by f3lix-tutorial.com

Piezo Accelerometer Tutorial

Propriétés de l'accéléromètre

 

Dans ce chapitre, nous voulons examiner les principales propriétés ou caractéristiques typiques d'un accéléromètre. Outre la définition, nous voulons examiner et comprendre l'influence de la construction sur les propriétés du capteur de vibrations.

Il existe également des normes industrielles traitant des propriétés de l'accéléromètre piézoélectrique. La première à mentionner est la norme ISO 16063 sur les méthodes pour l'étalonnage des transducteurs de vibrations et de chocs et les deux normes plus anciennes ISA-RP37.2-1982 (R1995) et ANSI/ASA S2.2-1959 (R2016) qui décrivent également la procédure de mesure de certaines caractéristiques.


Pour mettre un peu d'ordre dans cet amalgame de propriétés, je les ai regroupées selon trois axes principaux, qui sont les propriétés liées à l'amplitude, à la fréquence et enfin à la température.
J'ai également essayé de séparer les "bonnes" propriétés ou les caractéristiques typiques de conception d'un accéléromètre piézoélectrique des "mauvaises", que j'ai appelées facteurs de perturbation et qui sont décrites dans le dernier chapitre.

Propriétés liées à l'amplitude

Dans cette section, nous trouvons des caractéristiques telles que la sensibilité, la linéarité ou la gamme dynamique limitée par la résolution et l'excitation permise ainsi que la capacité de choc.


Sensibilité

La caractéristique la plus concise d'un accéléromètre est probablement la sensibilité qui nous indique combien de pico-Coulombs sont émis par unité d'accélération.


En général, la sensibilité S d'un capteur est définie comme la pente de la fonction de transfert du capteur. Cela signifie le rapport entre la variation de la sortie par rapport à la variation de l'entrée correspondante.

Ainsi, la sensibilité S de l'accéléromètre devient
S = dQ/da   ou  S = ΔQ/Δa
Q = charge de sortie    [Q ] = pC
aaccélération d'entrée    [a ] = m/s
²  or g

La sensibilité est la pente de la sortie par rapport à l'entrée.

La sensibilité correspond à la pente de la courbe Sortie vs Entrée (Output vs Input)

Certains fabricants de capteurs de vibrations utilisent pour la sensibilité des unités pC/m/s², ce qui est la dimension correcte dans le système SI et également proposée par la norme ISO 16063. Cependant, dans de nombreux secteurs de l'industrie, notamment dans l'aéronautique, l'unité de base pour l'accélération reste la gravité g. Cela conduit à l'unité pC/g pour la sensibilité.


Remarque : Pour un capteur qui mesure un paramètre statique (comme la température ou la pression), nous parlerions de fonction de transfert statique. Cependant, nous nous souvenons que l'accéléromètre piézoélectrique ne peut pas mesurer une accélération statique. Avec notre capteur de vibrations, le signal (d'entrée et de sortie) est toujours dynamique. Idéalement, la fonction de transfert devrait être définie pour une seule fréquence de référence distincte. Cependant, comme nous le verrons dans la section "Linéarité", cela peut entraîner des difficultés pour tester la fonction de transfert complète.


Étalonnage de l'accéléromètre (sensibilité de référence)

L'étalonnage de l'accéléromètre (mesure de la sensibilité de référence) est établi sous un ensemble de conditions définies. Si vous suivez la norme ISO 16063, vous pouvez choisir par exemple 50 m/s² à 160 Hz.
Une autre condition de référence établie traditionnelle-ment serait 5 g à 120 Hz ou à 100 Hz.
En pratique, l'étalonnage du capteur est déterminé par une seule mesure de la sortie Q au point de référence, disons 5g à 120Hz.
Sachant que la fonction de transfert passe inévitablement par "zéro", la sensibilité de référence est alors simplement  S=Q/5    [pC/g]

Trigger_Button to open additional info_edited_edited.png

Le 120 Hz est utilisé pour éviter la première harmonique de la fréquence du réseau de 50 Hz.
Pour les pays où la fréquence du réseau est de 60 Hz, la fréquence de référence préférée est de 100 Hz.

La charge Q à 5g est égale à 5 fois la sensibilité.

La sensibilité de référence sera la valeur à laquelle se référeront toutes les autres mesures des caractéristiques de performance ou des influences extérieures.


Calcul de la sensibilité (pro memoria)

Pour calculer la sensibilité S d'un accéléromètre en pC/g, nous utilisons l'équation simple suivante
S = m·d·g = m·d·9.81  [pC/g ]
d est la constante piézoélectrique résultante de l'élément de mesure combiné et m est la masse de la masse inertielle de l'accéléromètre.
(le plus souvent d=n·dik  avec n = nombre d'éléments piézo)

Il ressort de ceci que pour augmenter la sensibilité de l'accéléromètre, il faut un matériau piézo avec une constante piézoélectrique élevée (dik ), un grand nombre d'éléments piézoélectriques et une grande masse inertielle.


Configuration de mesure

Il existe plusieurs méthodes d'étalonnage de l'accéléromètre (voir également la norme ISO 16063), mais pour toutes les mesures, nous avons besoin d'une table vibrante (shaker) pour produire un mouvement sinusoïdal monoaxial. Il est très important que le mouvement du shaker soit aussi proche que possible dans un seul axe, ce qui signifie que tout mouvement transversal doit être minimisé.

 

Une configuration de mesure typique pour l'étalonnage (sensibilité de référence) est un montage dos à dos avec un bloc central sur lequel on monte l'unité à tester d'un côté et un capteur de référence étalonné de l'autre côté. L'ensemble est monté sur un shaker. Les deux capteurs doivent être montés dans le même axe afin de réduire l'influence d'un éventuel mouvement de balancement de la table vibrante.
Un dispositif de mesure à laser peut également être utilisé à la place de l'accéléromètre de référence, mais il doit également être aligné dans l'axe central.
Il existe des capteurs d'étalonnage dos à dos sur lesquels l'unité à tester est montée directement. Le bloc de montage central peut ainsi être omis, mais si les capteurs à tester ont des plans de montage différents, un capteur d'étalonnage différent est nécessaire pour chaque plan.

Image montrant le montage typique dos à dos pour mesurer la sensibilité.

Unité

à tester

Accéléromètre de référence

Mouvement

du shaker

 


Linéarité

La fonction de transfert d'un capteur est idéalement une ligne droite, mais dans la réalité, il y a toujours de petites déviations par rapport à la ligne idéale. La linéarité caractérise cette propriété d'un capteur. Selon la norme ISA 37.1, la linéarité est définie ainsi: La proximité de la courbe d'étalonnage avec une ligne droite spécifiée.
La linéarité est exprimée en tant que non-linéarité ou erreur de linéarité. Il s'agit d'une mesure de la déviation maximale de la sortie de l'accéléromètre par rapport à une ligne droite de référence spécifiée et elle est exprimée en pourcentage du signal de sortie pleine échelle (full scale - FS). Dans certains cas, elle est également spécifiée comme pourcentage du signal.

Graphique montrant l'erreur de linéarité en tant que déviation de la meilleure ligne droite.

L'erreur de linéarité est la déviation de la meilleure ligne droite.

Normalement, la référence est la "meilleure ligne droite", c'est-à-dire la ligne droite passant par tous les points de mesure qui mène aux plus petits décalages de tous les points par rapport à la ligne.
Elle peut également être définie de différentes manières, par exemple par les plus petits carrés d'erreur.
La linéarité est souvent indiquée par différentes valeurs sur différentes plages. Une indication typique serait 0,3 % sur 100 g et 1% sur 500 g.
Un élément piézoélectrique est considéré comme l'un des moyens les plus linéaires pour convertir une force en un signal électrique. Il faut juste s'assurer qu'il n'y a pas de shunt mécanique entre la masse inertielle et la base qui pourrait détruire la bonne linéarité !


Configuration de la mesure

Le test de linéarité est aussi effectué par comparaison avec un accéléromètre standard comme l'étalonnage de la sensibilité. Cependant, avec la configuration d'étalonnage décrite plus haut, la capacité d'amplitude ou la puissance du shaker risque d'atteindre rapidement ses limites. C'est pourquoi nous utilisons des structures résonantes comme une barre résonante  transversale ou une tige résonante longitudinale pour obtenir l'accélération désirée. La fréquence de la structure résonante est normalement plus élevée que celle que nous avons choisie pour le test d'étalonnage. C'est une pratique acceptable, mais la fréquence d'essai doit rester dans la partie inférieure de la bande de fréquence de l'accéléromètre testé, car à des fréquences plus élevées, son signal de sortie pourrait être influencé par sa propre résonance.
Il est important de monter l'accéléromètre de référence et l'unité sous test à faible distance et à un endroit éloigné du point nodal de la structure résonante (la barre ou la tige). Il est également important que le rapport des deux sorties soit mesuré sur toute la gamme d'accélération sur le même montage.
Bien entendu, un capteur de vibration au laser peut également être utilisé comme référence.

 
 

Gamme dynamique

La plage dynamique d'un capteur ou d'un instrument est définie comme la plage entre la plus grande et la plus petite entrée dans laquelle le capteur reste conforme aux spécifications. Un paramètre typique à considérer dans ce contexte est la linéarité de l'accéléromètre.
La limite supérieure de la gamme dynamique est dictée par l'architecture et les détails de conception de l'accéléromètre. Elle est donnée par la charge maximale admissible, avant qu'il ne soit endommagé de manière permanente ou que le signal ne soit distordu ou non-linéaire de manière inacceptable.


La limite inférieure est plutôt dictée par la résolution du signal.


Charge maximale

La limite supérieure de la gamme dynamique est finalement liée au poids de la masse inertielle et à la robustesse de l'élément piézoélectrique. Plus la masse est importante, plus l'accélération admissible est faible. Mais ce n'est pas seulement le poids de la masse qui est important, mais aussi la grandeur de la précontrainte qui maintient les éléments individuels ensemble. À l'accélération maximale dans toutes les directions, la précontrainte doit être suffisante pour empêcher les pièces de se déplacer sous l'effet des forces d'inertie.


Resolution

La limite inférieure de la gamme dynamique est généralement déterminée par la résolution de la chaîne de mesure. La résolution est définie comme la plus petite variation de l'entrée qui produit encore une variation de la sortie. La résolution d'un bon accéléromètre peut être considérée comme presque infiniment petite. Cependant, en réalité, la résolution est déterminée par le bruit du système de mesure.  Le bruit du système est largement déterminé par l'électronique, la longueur du câble, le blindage du câble, le niveau de l'environnement électromagnétique, mais aussi par le bruit triboélectrique généré par le mouvement du câble ou des effets indésirables de déformation de la base.

En règle générale, un système de mesure professionnel peut détecter de manière nette 1/100 de pico-coulomb avec un rapport signal/bruit encore raisonnable.
La limite inférieure de la gamme dynamique est déterminée par les qualités électriques du système de mesure, tandis que la limite supérieure dépend des qualités mécaniques de l'accéléromètre. Typiquement, un bon accéléromètre piézoélectrique fonctionne sur une gamme dynamique allant jusqu'à 1'000'000 à 1 (120 dB).
Si l'on considère la chaîne de mesure complète, il faut tenir compte du fait que les étages électroniques ultérieurs ont également une limite de gamme maximale au-delà de laquelle nous aurons un écrêtage par saturation. Je tiens à souligner qu'il est généralement nécessaire de réduire l'amplification à la résonance à l'aide d'un filtre passe-bas.

 

 


Choc mécanique

Un choc est un événement unique de changement soudain de l'accélération. Normalement, le choc est défini comme une impulsion demi-sinusoïdale. Cela signifie que la durée du choc correspond à la moitié de la période et la magnitude à l'amplitude d'une accélération sinusoïdale. Une spécification typique pour un choc pourrait être la suivante:

Choc demi-sinusoïdal de 5000g / 1ms


Résistance au choc

La capacité à survivre à un choc est donnée par la conception et le choix des matériaux de l'accéléromètre, comme nous l'avons vu pour la limite supérieure de la gamme dynamique.  Il ne faut pas oublier qu'une exigence de survie aux chocs s'applique normalement aux 3 axes !

Profil de choc demi-sinusoïdal

Profil de choc avec une forme d'onde semi-sinusoïdale

To produce a repeatable shock there are different systems on the market.
One of them is a pneumatic hammer i.e. there is a cylinder with a piston inside which is shot pneumatically to impact a little anvil. On the anvil the transducer under test together with a reference transducer are mounted in one axis similar to the back to back mounting of the sensitivity calibration.
Other methods are the pendulum shock testing machine which works like the name says with an impacting pendulum or the free-fall drop shock machine which has a vertically guides fall table on which the UUT is mounted.


Mesure des chocs

La mesure correcte d'un choc avec un accéléromètre piézoélectrique est assez complexe et un peu délicate. Il ne s'agit pas seulement d'une question de plage d'amplitude, mais surtout d'une question de réponse en fréquence de l'accéléromètre. L'accéléromètre piézoélectrique n'a pratiquement aucun amortissement et il faut donc tenir compte de l'influence de la résonance excitée par le choc. Pour mesurer un choc, il faut un accéléromètre ayant la résonance la plus élevée possible. Mais la partie inférieure de la bande de fréquences est également importante, car le contenu fréquentiel d'un choc, même très court, contient des fréquences très basses. En outre, certains matériaux piézoélectriques présentent une sorte de décalage du zéro après un choc important, qui ne se récupère que lentement.

Decoration_Image showingflying titles of accelerometer properties and a magnifying blass to serach after the properties. Image by f3lix-tutorial.com

Piezo Accelerometer Tutorial

Accelerometer Properties

Accelerometer Properties

 

In this chapter we want to look at the main properties or typical characteristics of an accelerometer. Besides the definition, we want to examine and understand the influence of the construction on the properties of the vibration sensor.

There are also industrial standards treating the properties of a piezoelectric accelerometer. First to mention is the ISO 16063 standard about methods for the calibration of vibration transducers and the two older standards ISA-RP37.2-1982 (R1995) and ANSI/ASA S2.2-1959 (R2016) also describing the way of measuring certain characteristics.

To bring some order into the sea of properties, I have grouped them along three main axes, namely amplitude-related properties, frequency-related properties and finally temperature-related properties.
I have also tried to separate the “good” properties or design typical characteristics of a piezoelectric accelerometer from the “bad” ones, which I have named Disturbing Factors and are described in the last chapter.

Amplitude related Properties

In this section we find characteristics such as the sensitivity, the linearity, the dynamic range limited by the resolution and the permissible excitation as well as shock capability.


Sensitivity

The most concise characteristic of an accelerometer is probably the sensitivity which tells us how many pico-Coulombs are put out per unit acceleration.


In general the sensitivity S  of a sensor is defined as the slope of the transfer function of that sensor. That means the ratio between the output change w.r.t. the related input change.

 

So the sensitivity S  for the accelerometer becomes
S = dQ/da   or  S = ΔQ/Δa
Q = output charge    [Q ] = pC
ainput acceleration    [a ] = m/s
²  or g

The sensitivity is the slope of output vs imput

The sensitivity corresponds to the slope of the curve Output vs Input

Some manufacturers of vibration sensors use pC/m/s² units for the sensitivity which is the correct dimension in the SI-system and also proposed by the ISO 16063 standard . However in wide parts of the industry particularly in aeronautics the base unit for acceleration is still the gravity g. This leads to the unit pC/g for the sensitivity.


Note: For a sensor which measures a static parameter (like temperature or pressure) we would talk about the static transfer function. However we remember hat the piezoelectric accelerometer cannot measure static acceleration.  With our vibration sensor the (input and output) signal is always dynamic. Ideally the transfer function should be defined for a single distinct reference frequency. However as we will see under “Linearity” this might lead to some difficulties in testing the full transfer function.


Accelerometer Calibration (Reference Sensitivity)

The accelerometer calibration (measurement of the reference sensitivity) is established under a set of defined conditions. If you follow the ISO 16063 standard you could choose for example 50 m/s²  at 160Hz.

Another traditionally established reference condition would be 5 g at 120 Hz or at 100 Hz
In practice the sensor calibration is determined by just one measurement of the output Q at the reference point, let’s say 5g at 120Hz.
Knowing that the transfer function is inevitably going through “zero”, the reference sensitivity is then simply  S=Q/5    [pC/g]

Trigger_Button to open additional info_edited_edited.png

120 Hz is used to avoid the first Harmonic of the 50Hz mains frequency.

For countries where the mains frequency is 60Hz the preferred reference frequency would be 100 Hz

The Charge Q at 5g equals 5 times the Sensitivity

The reference sensitivity will be the value to which all other measurements of performance characteristics or external influences will be referred to.


Calculation of the sensitivity (pro memoria)

To calculate the sensitivity of an accelerometer in pC/g we use the simple equation
S = m·d·g = m·d·9.81  [pC/g ]
Where is the resulting piezoelectric constant of the combined sensing element and m is the mass of the inertial mass of the accelerometer.
(most often d=n·dik  with n = number of piezo elements)

From the above it follows that to increase the sensitivity of the accelerometer we need a piezo material with a high piezoelectric constant (dik ), a large number of piezo elements and a big inertial mass.


Measuring Setup

There are several methods for the accelerometer calibration (see also ISO 16063) but for all the measurements we need a shaker to produce a sinusoidal single axis motion. It is very important that the motion of the shaker is a close as possible in one single axis that means any cross axis movement must be minimised.

 

A typical measurement setup for the calibration (reference sensitivity) is a back-to-back mounting with a central block on which we mount the unit under test (UUT) on one side and a calibrated reference transducer on the other side. The whole assembly is mounted on a shaker. Both sensors must be mounted in the same axis to reduce the influence of any rocking motion of the shaker table.
A laser-based measuring device can also be used instead of the reference accelerometer, but it must also be aligned in the central axis.
There are dedicated back-to-back calibration sensors on which the UUT is mounted directly. Thereby the central mounting block can be omitted, however if the UUT have different mounting patterns a different calibration sensor is needed for each pattern.

Image showing the typical back to back set-up to measure the sensitivity

Unit under

test (UUT)

Reference

Accelerometer

Shaker Input

 


Linearity

The transfer function of a sensor is ideally an straight line but in reality  there are always small deviations  from the ideal line. The linearity characterizes this ability of a sensor. According to ISA 37.1 Linearity is defined as: The closeness of a calibration curve to a specified straight line.
The linearity is expressed as non-linearity or linearity error. It is a measure of the maximum deviation of  the accelerometer output from a specified straight reference line and is expressed as a percentage of the full scale (FS) output signal. In a few cases it is also specified as “percent of point”.

Graph showing the linearity error as the deviation from the best straight line

The linearity error is the deviation from the best straight line

Normally the reference is the “best straight line”, which is the straight line through all the measuring points  that leads to the smallest offsets of all the points from the line.
It may also be defined in different ways for example the least error squares.
The linearity is often indicated with different values over different ranges. A typical indication would be 0.3% over 100g and 1% over 500 g

A piezoelectric element is considered one of the most linear means of converting a force into an electrical signal. Just make sure there is no mechanical shunt between the inertial mass and the base that could destroy the good linearity!


Measuring Setup

The linearity test is performed like the sensitivity calibration by comparison with a standard accelerometer. However with the calibration set-up as described above the amplitude capability or the power of the shaker may probably come soon to it’s limits. Therefore we use resonant structures like a transversely resonant beam or a longitudinally resonant rod to obtain the desired acceleration. The frequency of the resonant structure is normally higher than the one we have chosen for the calibration test. This is an accepable practice but the test frequency must remain in the lower end of the frequency band of the accelerometer under test because at higher ferquencies the output of the UUT might be inflenced by it's resonance.
On the resonant structure (the beam or rod) it is important to mount both the reference accelerometer and the UUT in close proximity and at a location far from the node point. It is also important that the ratio of the two outputs is measured throughout the complete range of accelerations on the same set-up.
Of course, a laser vibration meter can also be used as reference sensor.

 
 

Dynamic Range

The dynamic range of a sensor or instrument is defined as the range between the largest input versus the smallest input where the sensor remains within specification. A typical parameter to consider in this context is the linearity of the accelerometer.
The upper limit of the dynamic range is dictated by the architecture and design details of the  accelerometer. It is given by the maximum allowable load, before it suffers from any permanent damage or before the signals gets unacceptably distorted or non-linear.

The lower limit is rather dictated by the signal resolution.


Maximum Load

The upper limit of the dynamic range is ultimately related to the weight of the inertial mass and the robustness of the piezo element. The larger the mass, the smaller the allowable acceleration. But not only the weight of the mass is important, but also the magnitude of the preload that holds the individual parts together. At the highest acceleration in all directions, the preload must be sufficient to prevent the parts from being shifted due to the inertial forces.


Resolution

The low limit of the dynamic range is generally determined by the resolution of the measuring chain. The resolution is defined as the smallest change in the input that still produces a change in the output. The resolution of a good accelerometer may be considered almost infinitely low. However in reality the resolution is determined by the measuring system noise.  The system noise is largely determined by the electronics, cable length, cable screening , level of electro-magnetic environment, but also by triboelectric noise generated by cable motion or undesired base strain effects.

As a rule of thumb, a professional measuring system can clearly detect 1/100 of a pico-Coulomb with a signal-to-noise ratio that is still reasonable .
The lower limit of the dynamic range is determined by the electrical qualities of the measuring system while the upper limit is depending from the mechanical qualities of the accelerometer. Typically, a good piezo electric accelerometer operates over a dynamic range of up to 1’000’000 to 1 (120 dB).
Looking at the complete measuring chain we have to take into account that the subsequent electronics stages also have a maximum range limit above which we will get saturation clipping. I would like to point out that it is usually necessary to reduce the amplification at the resonance using a low-pass filter.

 


Shock

A shock is a single event of sudden change in acceleration. Normally the shock is defined to be a half sine pulse. That means the shock duration corresponds to half the period and the magnitude to the amplitude of a sinusoidal acceleration. A typical specification for a shock could be: Half sine shock of 5000g / 1ms


Shock resistance

The capability to survive a shock is given by the design and material choice of the accelerometer like we have seen for the upper limit of the dynamic range.  Not to forget that a shock survivability requirement is normally meant for all 3 axes!

Half sine wave shock profile

Shock profile with half sine wave shape

To produce a repeatable shock there are different systems on the market.
One of them is a pneumatic hammer i.e. there is a cylinder with a piston inside which is shot pneumatically to impact a little anvil. On the anvil the transducer under test together with a reference transducer are mounted in one axis similar to the back to back mounting of the sensitivity calibration.
Other methods are the pendulum shock testing machine which works like the name says with an impacting pendulum or the free-fall drop shock machine which has a vertically guides fall table on which the UUT is mounted.


Shock measurement

The correct measurement of a shock with a piezoelectric accelerometer is quite complex and a little tricky. It is not only a question of the amplitude range, but mainly a question of the frequency response of the accelerometer. The piezoelectric accelerometer has virtually no damping and therefore the influence of the resonance excited by the shock must be taken into account. To measure a shock, an accelerometer with the highest possible resonance is needed. But the lower end of the frequency band is also important, as the frequency content of even a very short shock contains very low frequencies. Furthermore, certain piezo materials show a kind of zero shift after a large shock, which only recovers slowly.